PDA

View Full Version : Computer Builds



Ninboycl
10-13-2008, 06:35 PM
I can't believe I didn't make this thread ages ago.
Post your gaming/stock (lol) computer spec's/benchmarks here. Also post what you plan on replacing/upgrading within the near future.
Remember, If you post, you MUST post your Computer Specs!

Mine:(example)

Raidmax Smilodon Case (Antec 1200 Replacement)
Raidmax Aurora 570 Watt PSU (Modular SLI Ready PSU)
Asus P5Q Mobo (SLI Board Upgrade)
Corsair DDR2 XMS2 Twin 2 Gig Dual Channel Kit *800 mhz*
Evga 8800 GTS SSC 640 MB DDR3 (Another for SLI, or Dual 9800 GT's)
320 GB Seagate Gateway OEM HDD
CoolMaster Hyper TX2 (I think) Cpu HSF
Pentium D @ 2.8 Ghz (C2Q Q6600 oc to 3.0 Ghz before the Halloween Marathon)
Gateway OEM Windows XP Media Center Edition SP2 (Vista Ultimate 64 bit (32 bit maybe, because Baltes says 64 bit sucks.)

Gwellin
10-13-2008, 07:49 PM
Good idea, this should have been done a while ago.

Here is mine, which I had ordered from NCIX.com (http://www.ncix.com/) two years ago. I named it Elenore, a powerful name in my opinion.

Case: Antec P180 ATX Advanced Mid Tower Aluminum Case 4X5.25 1X3.5 6X3.5INT No PS W/ USB & Audio Ports
Power Supply: OCZ GameXStream 600W ATX12V 24PIN SLI Ready Active PFC ATX Power Supply 120MM Fan Black

Processor: AMD Athlon 64 X2 4600+ EE Dual Core Processor AM2 Windsor 2.4GHZ 512KBX2 65W 90NM Retail Box
Memory: (two) OCZ Platinum XTC PC2-6400 2GiB 2X1GiB DDR2-800 CL4-5-4-15 240PIN DIMM Dual Channel Memory Kit
Motherboard: ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe ATX AM2 Nforce 590 SLI 2PCI-E16 1PCI-E4 1PCI-E1 2PCI SATA2 1394 Motherboard

LCD Display: (two) Samsung SyncMaster 225BW 22IN Widescreen LCD Monitor Black 1680X1050 700:1 5MS VGA DVI HDCP
Video Card: EVGA GeForce 7950 GX2 500MHZ Dual GPU Video Card 1GiB 1.2GHZ GDDR3 PCI-E Dual DVI-I HDTV Out

IDE Hard Drives: (two) Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB SATA2 3GB/S 7200RPM 16MB Cache NCQ Hard Drive
DVD Writer: Samsung SH-S182 DVD+RW 18X8X16 DVD-RW 18X6X16 D.L-8X DVD Writer IDE Black OEM W/ Software
CD Writers: LG Black 52X24X52 CDRW& 16X DVD Combo INT Eide Atapi OEM W/ CDRW SW Burner
Floppy: Mitsumi FA404A-BK 7-IN-1 Floppy Drive & Flash Reader CF/SM/SD/MMC/MS Black

Sound Card: Creative Sound Blaster X-FI Xtreme Music 24BIT Sound Card
Speaker:Logitech X-530 5.1 Speaker System Black 70W RMS 140W W/FDD2

Keyboard: Saitek Eclipse 2 Keyboard Silver Black 104 Key W/ Purple Red Blue Key Illumination
Mouse: Logitech MX Revolution Laser 2.4GHZ Cordless Mouse
Laser Printer: Samsung ML-1610 Mono Laser Printer 17PPM 600X600 Dpi 2MB USB


I also have a White MacBook laptop, 2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 1GiB RAM, which is a year and a half old. Her name is Sakura, simply because I've liked that name since hearing it from several sources.



I do plan to make a change somewhat soon. I wish to move 100% to Macs, with the original plan being for a MacPro tower. That may change if I feel the new MacBook Pro laptops, to be announced tomorrow, are powerful enough for my work.

My current desktop computer would then become Linux a media server (music, videos and backups) with a Windows partition devoted to PC gaming.

Diana3
10-13-2008, 08:00 PM
I also have a White MacBook laptop, 2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 1GiB RAM, which is a year and a half old. Her name is Sakura, simply because I've liked that name since hearing it from several sources.



I love sakura! I've always wanted to see the blossoms in Japan. :)

Ninboycl
10-13-2008, 08:36 PM
I also have a White MacBook laptop, 2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 1GiB RAM, which is a year and a half old. Her name is Sakura, simply because I've liked that name since hearing it from several sources.



I love sakura! I've always wanted to see the blossoms in Japan. :)
Oh My God. You posted, now you MUST post your PC specs, or FEEL MY WRATH!

Gwellin
10-13-2008, 08:41 PM
I also have a White MacBook laptop, 2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 1GiB RAM, which is a year and a half old. Her name is Sakura, simply because I've liked that name since hearing it from several sources.

I love sakura! I've always wanted to see the blossoms in Japan. :)
Oh My God. You posted, now you MUST post your PC specs, or FEEL MY WRATH!
Yes, the rules of this topic clearly state that to post here you MUST post your computer specs.
Quick, Ninboy, add that to the first post!

Diana3
10-13-2008, 09:01 PM
Woah, lol, ok.

Core 2 Duo 1.8ghz
2 gigs of ddr2 4200
2 250 sata hds
Visiontek ATI Radeon X1950 Pro 256MB PCI-E
and I forget how big my power supply is.... I'll say 650


also, holy crap, gwellin! Did you just go to the store and get the most expensive EVERYTHING (even your keyboard)? lol, you rock. I love barracudas! Also, the samsung 225bws are amazingly sweet. I also have the mx revolution. I would have preferred the old vx (tiny woman hands), but I didn't buy it in time. The new ones are gross times 10.

Gwellin
10-13-2008, 09:11 PM
also, holy crap, gwellin! Did you just go to the store and get the most expensive EVERYTHING (even your keyboard)? lol, you rock. I love barracudas! Also, the samsung 225bws are amazingly sweet. I also have the mx revolution. I would have preferred the old vx (tiny woman hands), but I didn't buy it in time. The new ones are gross times 10.
No, it was more of a "Holy crap, I've got a decent job for the first time in my life. Time to go in debt right away!" moment. I went through a year long 3D Animation course with a sorely underpowered computer, not that the ones at my school were much better, and I wanted something with a lot of power to make up for it. The ironic thing is that I got a Wii and DS several months later and have barely played any games on this machine since.

I started with 2GiB of RAM and only one monitor, but I doubled those both last year. I have officially fallen in love with dual monitor workstations, something I thought would be pointless before.

Diana3
10-13-2008, 09:34 PM
also, holy crap, gwellin! Did you just go to the store and get the most expensive EVERYTHING (even your keyboard)? lol, you rock. I love barracudas! Also, the samsung 225bws are amazingly sweet. I also have the mx revolution. I would have preferred the old vx (tiny woman hands), but I didn't buy it in time. The new ones are gross times 10.
No, it was more of a "Holy crap, I've got a decent job for the first time in my life. Time to go in debt right away!" moment. I went through a year long 3D Animation course with a sorely underpowered computer, not that the ones at my school were much better, and I wanted something with a lot of power to make up for it. The ironic thing is that I got a Wii and DS several months later and have barely played any games on this machine since.

I started with 2GiB of RAM and only one monitor, but I doubled those both last year. I have officially fallen in love with dual monitor workstations, something I thought would be pointless before.


I agree, I could never go back to only one monitor on my work computer (how did I ever do it before?! I'm considering like five or six. Have you used synergy? It's amazing!) At home, I'm content with one.

Gwellin
10-13-2008, 11:07 PM
I agree, I could never go back to only one monitor on my work computer (how did I ever do it before?! I'm considering like five or six. Have you used synergy? It's amazing!) At home, I'm content with one.
Synergy? Never heard of it.

...Some Googling later...

Is this the Synergy (http://synergy2.sourceforge.net/) you mean? That's a very interesting idea. In fact it may work very well on my new setup, whenever that comes around. I'll have to keep that in mind, and in my bookmarks. Thank you.

localretard
10-14-2008, 12:21 AM
umm black macbook that i got in June.

Processor: 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
RAM: 2x1Gb DDR2 SDRam
Video: Intel GMA X3100
HDD: Intel 250Gb SATA

Gwellin
10-14-2008, 12:32 AM
umm black macbook that i got in June.

Processor: 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
RAM: 2x1Gb DDR2 SDRam
Video: Intel GMA X3100
HDD: Intel 250Gb SATA
And what's her name? :P

fettouhi
10-14-2008, 04:27 AM
Main desktop:
Dual core 2,66 Ghz FSB 1333
2 GB of HyperX Kingston 1375 DDR 3 Ram
Mobo: Asus P5K3 Deluxe/WiFi-AP
RAID 0 2 Raptor 10.000 rpm 74 GB HDD
Nividia 8800GT 510 MB OC
Samsung SyncMaster 245B 24'' 1920x1200
OS: Vista Ultimate 64 bit

Server:
IBM AMD server running low power comsumtion.
HDD 160GB
3 GB RAM DDR2
Network lacie HDD 1 TB
OS: Windows Small Business Server 2003

Media Center:
IBM special made Desktop modded
Dual core 2,4 Ghz
HDD 160 GB
DVB-T hauppauge 1300 Digital TV card
Samsung 40'' Full HDTV 1080p 100 Hz
3 Gb RAM DDR2
OS: Vista Ultimate 32bit

Notebook:
IBM Lenovo x61s 12''
1,4 Ghz GB dual core
120 GB HDD
4 Cell battery
3 GB RAM
OS: Vista Business 32 Bit

Nootbook2:
Asus EEE 901:
Atom CPU 1,6 Ghz
4 GB SSD
8 GB SD internal Card
OS: smil windows XP home

Diana3
10-14-2008, 05:44 AM
I agree, I could never go back to only one monitor on my work computer (how did I ever do it before?! I'm considering like five or six. Have you used synergy? It's amazing!) At home, I'm content with one.
Synergy? Never heard of it.

...Some Googling later...

Is this the Synergy (http://synergy2.sourceforge.net/) you mean? That's a very interesting idea. In fact it may work very well on my new setup, whenever that comes around. I'll have to keep that in mind, and in my bookmarks. Thank you.


Yup, that's it, it's amazing. You can even share your clipboard, and it works on macs.

Ninboycl
10-14-2008, 10:47 PM
Pshhh. Amateurs.
Triple Screens. TAEK THAT! _hat_

Gwellin
10-14-2008, 11:16 PM
Pshhh. Amateurs.
Triple Screens. TAEK THAT! _hat_
That's nothing, I have had four screens on the go, across two computers.

There's my already dual screen desktop, then my MacBook connected to my TV. I've had work applications open on my desktop, chat programs on my MacBook screen, then a movie playing on my TV through the MacBook, streamed over WiFi from my desktop's hard drive where the video was stored.

Ninboycl
10-15-2008, 10:15 PM
Pshhh. Amateurs.
Triple Screens. TAEK THAT! _hat_
That's nothing, I have had four screens on the go, across two computers.

There's my already dual screen desktop, then my MacBook connected to my TV. I've had work applications open on my desktop, chat programs on my MacBook screen, then a movie playing on my TV through the MacBook, streamed over WiFi from my desktop's hard drive where the video was stored.
Yeah well....
When I go SLI ill have 7 screens from 1 computer.... take some. :3

HiredGun
10-16-2008, 09:21 PM
I made mine ba mah self, Bought the parts n put it 2gether i mean

Core2 Duo clocked at 3.00GHz [havn't overclocked it... Im a wuss lol]
4gb Ram
ATI Radeon HD 4850
465gb Hard Drive
Corsair 550 watt power supply
Gigabyte DDR II motherboard
Antec 900 Case
Samsung SyncMaster2253bw inch wide screen monitor
Logitech G5 mouse

http://img408.imageshack.us/img408/9417/img6405pk1.jpg

Ninboycl
10-16-2008, 09:40 PM
*drools*
Antec 900/1200 = teh sex.

You need some major casemodding for them cables though, unless you like seeing the veins of your monster! (Like me >:D)

Mezix
10-17-2008, 03:33 PM
I made mine ba mah self, Bought the parts n put it 2gether i mean

Core2 Duo clocked at 3.00GHz [havn't overclocked it... Im a wuss lol]
4gb Ram
ATI Radeon HD 4850
465gb Hard Drive
Corsair 550 watt power supply
Gigabyte DDR II motherboard
Antec 900 Case
Samsung SyncMaster2253bw inch wide screen monitor
Logitech G5 mouse

*Pic*
Damn, that PC looks badass.

Dammit, I posted here. I'll post the specs later...

Gwellin
10-17-2008, 03:39 PM
Damn, that PC looks badass.

Dammit, I posted here. I'll post the specs later...
You better. ;)


Since we're moving to pictures, here is mine when I first got it, with no dust on it. I later got a second identical screen and just recently changed the mouse.

HiredGun
10-17-2008, 08:58 PM
Damn, that PC looks badass.

Dammit, I posted here. I'll post the specs later...
You better. ;)


Since we're moving to pictures, here is mine when I first got it, with no dust on it. I later got a second identical screen and just recently changed the mouse.
lol nice and clean man

what type of mouse do you have?? looks like the new G5 but at the same time it doesnt

Oh yea and i made some lights for my comp. Its 5 LEDs i hooked up 2 long wires with a resistor on each one and i got some little clear tubes to stick on the end of a few of em. Kinda fills up the case in the dark lol saved myself $10 :lol:

Gwellin
10-17-2008, 09:23 PM
lol nice and clean man

what type of mouse do you have?? looks like the new G5 but at the same time it doesnt

That's why I'm not taking a picture of my computer now. There is so much dust and is very cluttered.

That mouse is a Logitech G7 I got two years ago. Recently though the left click button started to wear, randomly double clicking or not recognizing drags. So I just replaced it with a Logitech MX Revolution mouse.

HiredGun
10-17-2008, 09:34 PM
lol nice and clean man

what type of mouse do you have?? looks like the new G5 but at the same time it doesnt

That's why I'm not taking a picture of my computer now. There is so much dust and is very cluttered.

That mouse is a Logitech G7 I got two years ago. Recently though the left click button started to wear, randomly double clicking or not recognizing drags. So I just replaced it with a Logitech MX Revolution mouse.
nice
I got the G5 [the silver n red one] from a pawn shop close 2 my house. $20 lol it was a bargin! sadly i dont have the weights but my friend has a G5 and has the weights but doesnt use em so he said he would give them 2 me

Ninboycl
10-18-2008, 05:14 PM
link (http://i211.photobucket.com/albums/bb69/Ninboycl/IMG_0259.jpg)

HiredGun
10-18-2008, 06:44 PM
lol 3 monitors. Nice.

Pic is a bit blurry though :?

Ninboycl
10-22-2008, 06:59 PM
Just got my Q6600, hovers at 34c when idle, about to test it in some COD4 to see how far I will try to OC it.

Just played some extensive COD4, full graphics *like always*.
Hottest it got was 45C. I'm gonna pick up some stress testers and OC er' to 3 GHz.